The essence of friendship


tree-sun-shade-1920x1200

You stand there all alone
Fires of grieves raging around you
That look in your eyes tells me
You cant get the water to put them out
You cant on your own win this bout


I see a tree standing in your place
So withered and so dry
None other hovering by its side
I see brown leaves lying in its wake
As if they were nothing but fake


Something I saw that no one else could
That you were torn apart by torments
A storm inside you each second grew
And you were unable to walk through
Happiness was what you wanted in lieu


Let me be your umbrella
Be it the sun or be it the rain
My shadow be your shade
Let me be your own tree
Fruits, flowers everything for your glee


I will be your shadow
Look behind your back when its dark
And stick to you when its light
I will be your eyes and ears
With me around there is nothing to fear


People come and go in life
Its only the true friends that stay behind
Who be your guiding light in the dark
They say a friend in need is a friend indeed
I will be one even when there is no need


Here is a flower, blooming and smiling
May this be the essence of our friendship
Here is a diamond, sparkling and shining
Be it the mirror on which our lives reflect
Take them, May all your worries they deflect

Leave a Reply

